Posted by: perchancetodream | January 9, 2010

2009 MEME

I try to limit the number of MEMEs that I post but I thought that this was an interesting way to look back on the past year.  If you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged but please leave the link in the comments section so that I can read yours too!

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

I hired a photographer (and her make-up/hair team) and did a photo shoot as my anniversary gift to hubby.  It was wonderful and frightening and surprisingly fun.  And I’ve just been asked by the photographer to be in a shoot next week so I guess I didn’t do too bad of a job the first time! J

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t think I wrote any down last year although I was pretty much vowing to get out of my job at the time (done), write more (done) and resolve the fertility issue once and for all (done).  This year….there are one of two very personal things I’d like to vow but nothing that I’m going to write about here! J

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes, PeeSticksandStones gave birth to her lovely Coleman and I can’t wait to see him again in a few weeks!

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Thankfully no as the year began shortly after my grandmother passed away.  That was enough.

5. What would you like to have in the coming year that you lacked in the previous year?

Focus.

Financial windfalls.

6. Where did you go that you’ve never been?

Ashville, NC for our anniversary.

7. What date from this year will remain etched upon your memory, and why:

May 4.  It was the day I went back to my old job and realized just how horrible the job I’d moved here for was.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Tied between quitting said horrible job and getting my old good job back as a telecommuter and getting this far through the adoption process.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not getting pregnant.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Thankfully no.  And my thyroid issue is finally being treated!

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A Canon Rebel Xsi for hubby’s Christmas present.

And my wonderful fluffy kitten.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Hubby for getting on board with the adoption plan and for listening to me rant while I was extricating myself from my old job.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

My old bosses’.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Towards old debt to pay it down.

And to sushi (because you still have to have some fun!).

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Finishing our home study.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

“Eyes on Fire” by Blue Foundation.  Not because of any importance, I just listened to the Twilight soundtrack a lot this year.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder?

MUCH HAPPIER

ii. thinner or fatter?

Thinner but probably only because I’m not stimming.

iii. richer or poorer?

Richer.  Hubby is working and I’m back with my old company and a real salary.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Explored more of this area.

Talking to hubby.

Corresponding with friends.

Writing.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Stressing over decisions.

Procrastinating.

Wasting time.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With hubby, our animals, a roaring fire, lots of champagne and a lot of love.

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?

Yes, repeatedly.  Thankfully with the same person!

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Fringe

Royal Pains

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nope. Although there are one or two people who puzzle me more than they did then.

24. What was the best book you read?

“The Help” by Kathryn Stockett

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Anuna

Radio Nigel at www.RadioNigel.com

26. What did you want and get?

A direction.

Peace of mind.

27. What was your favorite film of this year?

Probably “Avatar” but I can’t think of any movies that I really, really loved.

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Hubby and I went to a restaurant that pairs each course with a flight of wine.  That’s three small glasses per course.  It was a fun way to ring in 44.

29. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Winning the lottery.

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

Careless.  Working from home will do that to you.  I though I HAVE put some effort into learning how to apply makeup.

31. What kept you sane?

My kindle.

32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Always the same ones….Rupert Everett, Anthony Andrews, Bono…..all preferably about 20 years younger than today.

33. What political issue stirred you the most?

Obama’s election.

34. Whom did you miss?

My grandmother.

35. Who was the best new person you met?

Probably the photographer/makeup people who did my shoot.  I’ve kept in touch with them.

It’s been more significant to have renewed a lot of old college and high school friendships through Facebook.

36. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:

“Just Do it” – although I’m still not as good at is as I’d like to be

37. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

From Talk Talk’s “Life Is What You Make It”

Baby
life’s what you make it – celebrate it
anticipate it – yesterday’s faded.

Nothing can change it – life’s what you make it.

Ev’rything’s alright – life’s what you make it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

