Posted by: perchancetodream | January 1, 2010

The Year Ahead

I’ve started most years by making resolutions: big life changing-ones usually along the lines of: I need to get into/out of a relationship, sort out fertility issues, move to or from a state, (or country) change jobs, etc…..

So it’s a bit of relief to realize that there is nothing along those lines that I intend to do this year. Sure, I still want to lose the 15 extra pounds that is the gift of all of our failed cycles. And I’m making a concerted effort to be a better correspondent/friend this year (and that does NOT included correspondence through facebook status updates as I’m already on top of that one) including commenting on the blogs that I read daily. And there are the REALLY small issues like: walking the dog more, purging clothes I haven’t worn in at least 5 years and trying to finally file the papers that are collecting dust on my desk.

But….if none of these happen, I’ll really be okay with it. Okay the weight thing and the correspondence are pretty important to me.  But none of these resolutions – kept or otherwise is going to change my life.  And I’m fine with that.

Yes, we have a dossier to file in Bulgaria but that chance of us bringing home a child in 2010 is slim to none. Yes, hubby and I REALLY need to start investigating where we’re going to move to once we escape Music City for someplace we actually want to call home.  And those things will happen.

But it’s very freeing to be looking at the year ahead and want nothing more than to stay happy.  To have nothing major in your life actually change.  I’m not sure I’ve ever been in that position before and it’s a little odd. I’m sure that life will throw us curve balls because – like it or not – that always happens.  I’m praying that none of them are drastic and that there might be some good surprises through in there too.

I’d love to hear YOUR resolutions. But more than that, I wish you too the type of year where contentment is obtainable.

Happy 2010!

Responses

  1. Happy New Year to you! Can’t wait to hear from our agency how many kids are on the registry and how many dossiers are in line. No new year resolutions for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

