Posted by: perchancetodream | July 1, 2009

Continuing Education

Hubby will tell you that I’m a research junky.  It’s just something I’m really, really good at, and something I happen to like.  And it’s not often that those two things go together.

By the time we finished infertility treatments I knew WAY more than I’d ever wanted to know about the ins and outs of it all.  I suspect the same will happen with adoption.  Currently, I’m mostly reading blogs.  And mostly those about international adoption.  Unfortunately, the process is so slow that what blogs there are, aren’t updated much. It can be a bit isolating.

I have a number of books on my wishlist that I’ll work my way through but it’s hard to take too much on when we’re looking at not bringing a child home for at least 2 years and probably longer.

One thing we ARE doing though, because we have no choice, is taking a 10-hour online course.  It’s part of the Hauge requirements that, as part of the homestudy, adoptive families take some sort of formal adoption courses.  And each placing agency interprets this differently.

I have to admit to excluding one agency we were looking at because their education requirement was so high.  That agency sent you boxes and boxes of books and expected reports to be written as well as wanting you to take an in-person class. Now I’m really not adverse to reading about adoption.  Or taking a class.  Or even writing reports.  But there are so many hurdles to jump through that I wanted to be the one to pick and choose what I looked into.  And hubby was less than interested in those types of requirements.

So we chose the agency that was probably the best choice anyhow.  And their requirement is a 10-hour online course.  We’ve decided to break it into 5 segments, doing 2 sections a week.  And I was actually somewhat excited to start it last week.  But then we did.

The text is taken from a very dry study written in 2004. It isn’t overly text-heavy but it IS very clinical.  It’s one thing to know about behavioural issues caused by institutionalization but damn!  Tell me what to do about it?  There is no practical information (which admittedly, I’ll be finding somewhere else but…) to be found here.  No methods to try or signs to look for.

To prove that you’ve done the course, you take a test.  In this case it’s approx. 3 very basic multiple choice questions following each section.  So far, we’ve been 100% accurate but then I think we would have had we not even read the materials.

I’m not really sure what I expected or what I’d even suggest.  What we’re doing is relatively painless but also without a lot of merit.  Will we learn what we need from other sources?  Sure!  We even have one of the few international adoption clinics in the US, at the university that hubby works at.  We’ll definitely take their course once we’re farther down the road.  But not everyone has that opportunity.  Not everyone is going to read as voraciously as I will.  Why have an education requirement and not educate?

Responses

  1. Online adoption classes that bring up issues without a resolution sound pretty useless. Our online classes were so cliche’ and trite it bordered on insulting.

    I feel sad your wait will probably be 2 years. I think its smart to pace yourself with adoption books and reference materials. I pick up adoption magazines every once in a while because I find the format less heady reading than most books on the subject. Magazines articles are a good fit when my attention span is short, but I’m craving knowledge on the complex subject of adoption.

  2. Well, there are three essays concerning international adoption in Call Me Okaasan: Adventures in Multicultural Mothering.


Leave a Reply

Categories

