Posted by: perchancetodream | June 3, 2009

Expectations

When I started telecommuting, I thought a number of things would magically happen.  I would be more relaxed, I’d have more time to take care of non-work things (i.e., exercise, hobbies, house stuff, emails), the dog would get a ton of attention, and I’d be free to focus on all of our adoption paperwork.

Some of that has happened.  Some of it hasn’t.  I’m in a strange mental place where the end of my work day signals the end of my productive hours.  That was fine when I was working late at my last job, but now that I end at 4, I really think I should be doing SOMETHING. Perhaps it’s the heat or the stress of the past few years but aside from a cursory house-cleaning or an ocassional errand, I don’t seem to be able to do much.  And that bugs me.

I also had expectations for how the adoption process would work.  And this is bugging me too although it’s somewhat out of my control. Even with our newfound truce, our SW is making me batty.  She’s just SO SLOW.  I write her asking questions about their poorly designed forms and it takes her many, many days to get back to me. We don’t have a second appointment scheduled yet. It sometimes feels like she’s working on our case one day a week or something – perhaps I should have asked, up front, how many cases she had on her plate.

With having to get clearances from six different states, included DC which is always the worst to get any information from , and all of hubby’s UK stuff I knew that this was going to be a longer-than-average process.  Some home studies are done in 6 weeks. I’d estimated four months for ours.  And now I’m beginning to wonder if that’s accurate.

Once the home study is done, then we have the dossier to prepare. And with the wait time in Bulgaria being approx. 24 months….well….I really want to get a move on.

Hubby and I leave tomorrow for a mini-vacation for our 7th anniversary. We’re looking forward to a long weekend of hiking, hot tubbing, and good food.  I’m also excited about giving hubby his anniversary present – something I’ll write more about later. With the IF treatments and all that entailed we haven’t had a proper vacation in 2 years.  This won’t be one either but at least it will a get-away where we can focus on each other and on having fun.

But when we get back, I guess I need to call SW and have a chat with her.  And see what we can do to gently move things forward.

And then I need to take a good, hard look at my day.  And trying to figure out where I’m getting derailed. My work is getting done but I don’t seem to be able to do anything else.  Perhaps the summer heat is weighing too heavy or perhaps the draw of the back yard is too strong.  But I need to create this life to be what I want it to be.  With all of the things that are out of our control, this is something I need to take charge of.  Maybe then, the other things will follow suit.

Responses

  1. sounds like you have a lot on your plate. Hope you guys have a WONDERFUL vacation- happy 7th!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

