Posted by: perchancetodream | April 21, 2009

Crossroads

crossroads1These periods of waiting for things to change don’t offer up a lot to write about. Which makes me think of a quotet one of my favorite shows of all time: Crusade.

Dureena: My people are taught to avoid cross roads, also beaches, cliffs, pits, caverns, and wells.
Eilerson: Where do you go on vacation? Another part of the room?

Rimshot.

Anyhow…..I find that I’m both excited to be coming up to a cross road and a little bit tired of coming to cross roads, while still knowing that life is filled with them and that I seem to come across more than my share.

I have three days left at my current job.  These past two weeks have made me 100% sure that I’m doing the right thing.  While I personally like just about everyone I work with, I don’t like working with them.  Or…perhaps I would in a different company but not this one.  I’m fairly certain that I’ll maintain at least a casual friendship with a few co-workers though.  But nothing like the co-workers I had/have at the company I’m returning to.

In four days I go to NYC for a few days.  It is less a vacation and more a filling my soul trip.  I thirst for NYC if that makes any sense.  I will indulge in chinese food and friends and music and will come back exhausted but, I think, refilled.

Then I have a few days to try to turn my half of our office into something useful for actually getting work done instead of just surfing the net, answering emails and working out in.

It’s possible that I’ll also be doing a small bit of freelancing for my current company.  With everything going on, I can’t turn my back on the potential income but I’m waiting for them to actually decide what they can pay me before I commit to anything.

I’m looking forward to getting back to a structured, logical work-life.  And to being able to tend to our home and animals (and myself!) properly instead of just getting home at 6.30 to make dinner and fall asleep on the couch.

On the heels of my May 4 starting date comes the opening of the floodgates though.  Our meeting with our social worker, our medicals, a 24-hour trip back to NYC for me for a meeting, two big name concerts.  It will be time to really dig in and start making my life what I want it to be. Of making myself who I want to be.

Forks in the roads are tricky but they also offer opportunities for triumph and success.

Responses

  1. “Forks in the roads are tricky but they also offer opportunities for triumph and success.”

    Brava. Well said, you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

