Posted by: perchancetodream | August 8, 2008

At Least He Called….

Sorry for leaving you all hanging (cause I’m sure that all of you were glued to your computer hitting “refresh” and waiting to find out if I ever heard from Dr. Ambitious or one of his crazy nurses).

So Dr. Ambitious DID call me.  And I had one of the strangest conversations I’ve had with anyone so far throughout this whole process.  I’m not even sure how to sum this up so I’ll just give you the gist of it all.

He would be “happy” to start the IUI process but “you know how nurses talk” (I kid you not, he really said this) and if he did something different for me than he does for his other patients, he’d never hear the end of it.  Ok, so my fertility is now linked to my doctor’s pride and it has nothing to do with success rates.  He just doesn’t like them talking behind his back.

And he truly believes that being (almost) 43 really isn’t the issue but that my ovaries are “tired” and “confused” by all of the treatments and that the cultures are “sure to come back positive” because otherwise I wouldn’t have had the chemical pregnancies and my doctor in NYC, Dr. Celebrity who just did a couple of national TV spots, must just not pay much attention to the biochemistry of ART.

WHAT?????

He went on to say that he didn’t think the 375ml of follistim I’d been given was enough.  And it didn’t matter how many times I said that I only had that much two times: my first cycle during which I got pregnant but also verged on the edge of OHSS and my IVF cycle.  Which was an IVF cycle.

His idea is to superstimulate me with repronex and to go for 10-15 follicles.  I’m STILL not sure how I feel about that.

Eventually, I gave in.  We’re not doing IUI this cycle.  We’re taking vitamins and follic acid and baby asprin and all sort of stuff and we’ll wait for the cultures to come back.

Honestly, it would be cool to find out that there was something that was curable with antibiotics that is at the core of this. But I’ve never met a medical professional who ignored the fact that I’m (almost) 43 before.  Maybe my eggs are old. You think????

Hubby thinks that we should play along just for the option of taking a different treatment path and I agree.  To a point.

Hold on.  This is going to be an interesting ride.

Responses

  1. hope you got your questions answered at least.

  2. This sounds really interesting I think — I swear the more doctors I go to the more confused I get…

    xo

    Pam


Leave a Reply

Categories

