Posted by: perchancetodream | March 31, 2008

After the Rain has Fallen

2/3dpiui

So how do you count these double iui’s anyhow? The nurse at the clinic said to use the first one to determine when to stop progesterone, etc. but hey, I’m happy to take the additional day if I can!

I’ve had an odd number of conversations in the past month or two with people are either pregnant or have just had kids or, in the case of a dear old friend who contacted me today, success stories from ART. With one exception, every single one of them talked about having had multiple miscarriages before finally getting their child.

The friendI head from today, one of my best friends in college but an absolutely horrible correspondent, popped up on chat for a totally unrelated issue. But as I told him what we were going through he told me that his wife got pregnant with their first child on the 5th of their alloted 6 IUIs. Their son was then born on the 6th of the 6 IUIs (the most their insurance would cover) in the second round.

It made me feel a little bit better. Okay, so I have the issue of my doctor not wanting to do more than 4 medicated cycles. But look, I want to say to him…look at how it can work!

I’ve no idea about the possible success of this cycle. Being sick has completely diverted my body’s focus. Coughing for the past 5 or so days has caused me to pull all the muscles in my stomach and it gets hard to tell what might be going on. And now I have this ear thing where I feel like I’m underwater. That should make flying on Thursday a whole lot of fun!

Anyhow, I’m trying hard to stay optimistic. Not the warm, fluffy optimism that assumes this cycle will work but the type that says that somehow, someday I will have a child. The type of optimism I had before we started down this path that assumed that one day my period would be late and then boom! I’d have a child.

I know that it probably won’t happen like that at this point. It will take shots of follistim and HCG and blood work and scans and possibly surgery and possibly even the home studies and ordeals that come with adoption. But I’m optimistic that it will happen and that’s freeing.

I’m also realistic enough to know that this optimism might wane but I’m going to try it on for size and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

Categories

