Posted by: perchancetodream | March 27, 2008

Pulling Out the Stops

There is a word for days like today but I can’t seem to figure out what it is: Frenetic? Overwhelming? Insane?

First, I didn’t sleep well last night. I have a sore throat and a bit of a cough and….I cannot get sick. No really….

I dragged my tired self up to go to the clinic this morning. I got to see one of the doctors that I don’t often see and I like him because, out of all the doctors at the clinic, he seems to share the most information. He said I had six follicles: “1-4-1” as he put it. One ready to go, 4 coming closely behind and one that basically didn’t matter. He said he wanted to give the 4 one more day to catch up.

Great! So I figured on a Saturday IUI (I just can’t seem to catch a break about having to get up godawful early on a weekend). And I got on a train to head up north for a job interview for a job I don’t really want but that is in an area I’d like to live in. I get off the train there and see that I have a phone message. It is the clinic telling me that my LH has risen and that I need to come back before 5 TODAY for my HCG shot AND that Dr. Celebrity wants us to do back-to-back IUIS (Friday and Saturday).

I call back and get the nurse’s voicemail. I explain that I’m hours away. Do I turn back? What do I do? I stand in the train station and she calls me back. She tells me that I have to do it today before 5 but that if I can get my hands on Ovidrel, I can do it myself. Hmmm….I have one of those in my fridge left over from my previously horrible clinic but….give it to myself? Is it even in date???

I proceed to the interview. It’s actually a nice place and I like the person I’d work for. I’ve done the job before and it would bore me and they probably can’t pay me enough but….who knows…..maybe I can convince my current boss to let me come in 2 days a week and let me work from up there the rest of the time?

The interview ends and I realize that I can catch an earlier train. They rush me to the station and I catch the tain and then rush to the clinic and get my HCG shot. And then I find out that my lucky nurse (the only one who can get the IUI catheter in on one try as opposed to oh…10 minutes and tons of pain) will be out both days.

And they still don’t know if we’ll have more than one egg to work with but the hope is the extra HCG will spur on the 4….let’s hope! And even though my lining is apparently good (at the last 3 ultrasounds the doctor/fellow has commented on my good lining) we’re going with progesterone this cycle. Can’t say I’m looking forward to it but at least I won’t worry that we’re leaving any stones unturned.

Leave a Reply

Categories

