Posted by: perchancetodream | February 26, 2008

Wail of the Winds

So what’s worse than a miscarriage that results in a D&C in an abortion mill because it’s over Christmas week and all your “real” doctors offices are closed? Getting an unexpected $700+ bill for that D&C!

Yup! Came home yesterday to a bill from the clinic that the OBGYN recommended by my RE referred me to. The clinic that takes my insurance. The clinic whose billing department is only open 3 days a week for 4 hours each day.

I called my insurance company who said that the doctor’s name on my invoice WAS a doctor in their plan but that the code that was filed was for a different doctor. She’s trying to straighten this out for me while I sit by the phone and try not to develop an ulcer.

I’m not one for creating problems but it’s going to be a cold day in hell before I pay this. The experience was horrible enough but then to go through this just boggles my mind.

Edit: Insurance company called back.  The doctor went out of network FIVE days before my procedure.  Obviously his staff didn’t know about this as they took my co-pay and said that would cover it.  Issue is now being appealed.  Keep your fingers crossed for me….

On top of that, I had the strangest dream last night. I don’t often remember my dreams and those I do remember are usually of the “So, I sat down for lunch with Bono and the Pope and….” variety.

I’ve only once literally dreamed of having a child and that was after the IUI that resulted in the above miscarriage. Last night I dreamed that I was one of those women who go into labor without even knowing that they’re pregnant. And I delivered a beautiful son only we were completely unprepared for a child as I didn’t know I was having one. So my husband quickly build a kind of playpen and we ran around like maniacs trying to get the house sorted and get all of the bits and pieces needed for a child.

It was one of those dreams that I didn’t want to end. I kept waking up and willing myself back into it. And then the alarm went off. And I was back to real life.

Responses

  1. ((((hug)))))

  2. Real life can be such a bitch.

    Hang in there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

