Posted by: perchancetodream | January 31, 2008

Things Behind the Sun

Post title compliments of Nick Drake.

Mood compliments of Follistim, exhaustion, and the fact that my office is so cold I’m wrapped in a shawl, a blanket, and wearing fingerless gloves!

Sigh…..so CD 5. Went in this morning for my blood draw.  The nurse just called (how come they call you at 11.30am when it’s a random blood draw but when it’s something really important and you’re sitting on pins and needles, they don’t call until after 4pm???) and I guess they’ve finally figured out the right amount of Follistim for me because they want me to continue with 150mg tonight and tomorrow. (As opposed to last cycle when they were dragging me in the next day and talking about possibly having to cancel the cycle because I had too many follicles).

Okay,  I guess that’s the good part.  The bad part involves me getting up on Saturday morning to be at their office between 7 and 9. Let me explain that I am not a morning person.  In fact, if there were a dictionary listing under “not a morning person”, my photo would be included. And so my weekends are sacred. Getting up at 10am is early for me. I catch up from a week’s worth of 7am (or earlier) alarm clocks by sleeping in on the weekend. So going in on a Saturday is NOT what I was hoping for. (And I’m PRAYING they don’t have me come in on Sunday too).

Maybe it would  be different if I had the enthusiasm that I had last cycle. And I want to be that happy about getting back into this. But I can’t seem to work myself up for it. I’m sure that it’s some sort of underlying depression.  Focus is not my strong suit these days. I’m equally sure that I’ll be thrilled beyond belief if the IUI works and it’s a healthy pregnancy this time. I’d just like to get to that point.

Responses

  1. It’s great that you’ve got your protocol! But, seriously a bummer about getting up early on a Saturday.

    I think being less than enthused about this next cycle is perfectly normal…I’d be scared to death. I’d still do it, but I can’t even imagine it’s anything close to easy.

  2. For some reason, I’ve had to go to the clinic a lot on weekends — and yep, it sucks. Sometimes the vibe’s more relaxed, though, which can be good.

    I usually try to make my husband come along to “feel the pain” with me and then we treat ourselves to a nice breakfast after. I highly recommend this place. It gets all crazy by around 11, but at 9 it’s very peaceful and lovely: http://www.penelopenyc.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

