Posted by: perchancetodream | January 24, 2008

You Can’t Hurry Love (or anything else for that matter)

We are back from a very lovely, but very cold, long weekend in upstate New York. Mountains, hot tubs, wine, icy hikes, time for reading and 5 course breakfasts and loving and all the things that we only get in stolen moments in the city.

When we’d planned the weekend, we had the choice between this one and it’s extra day off for MLK Jr. Day, or next weekend which would have run over my husband’s birthday.  Neither of us wanted to miss this next cycle so we went with the earlier weekend and I spent a certainly amount of time praying that AF wouldn’t arrive before Wednesday.

Now though, it’s Thursday.  I have my new Styrofoam crate filled with ice packs and follistim and I’m ready. Apparently my body, as usual, has other ideas though and so far not a sign.  I remember times in the past where praying for my period meant that I wasn’t pregnant and the irony of now praying for a period so that I can TRY to get pregnant isn’t lost on me.

I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t read those posts by women who got pregnant after a miscarriage without even getting their period like you eat a bag of chips.  Each delicious post makes my mouth water and raises my hopes by an infinitesimal amount. But I also know that hopes like that, just like the chips, aren’t good for you and so I try to avoid them…

As much as I’d love to wax poetic about the non-infertility things in my life right now…well, there really aren’t any. I’m in a writing lull, work is about to get highly annoying this afternoon as our lay leadership arrives for a dinner of forced bonding and an all-day meeting tomorrow to hash out departmental priorities for the next 2 years.  The cat got her revenge on us for not having taken her on vacation by keeping us up all night by knocking things off my dresser. You know…life goes on but it doesn’t make the waiting any easier.

Responses

  1. “You Can’t Hurry Love (or anything else for that matter)’ I would have to agree with you.

    After my mc, thought it would just happen, kinda. Only halfheartedly temped. Don’t even think I got thru an entire cycle And hubby swears I avoided him for months.

    It took me a long time to get enthusiastic about anything…

    Have a nce weekend anyway. Hope you’re back up to snuff soon.

  2. I’m quite familliar with that feeling. Waiting just drags. You try to keep your head in enjoying it, but you just can’t quite muster. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

Categories

