Posted by: perchancetodream | January 8, 2008

Wandering into a New Year

I’m caught between my desire not to let this blog slip and get out of the habit of writing and between not wanting to write just for the sake of writing.

There is really not much going on.  I finally heard from my doctor yesterday that my HCG level on the 2nd was 179. In his words “so it’s almost gone” but all I can think of is that 179 is a bit higher than my second beta was. I’m meant to go in either Friday or Monday to see where we are.

The good bit is that my next cycle probably won’t start in the midst of our long “hot-tub, hike, drink wine” weekend. But I know that once we get back, I’m going to want to get this show on the road.

I just heard from an old friend from the UK.  His wife is now 35 weeks pregnant and honestly, I couldn’t be happier for them. For some reason, I’d assumed that all just happened magically for them, at the right time as it does for some people but I found out that they’d had “more than one” miscarriage as well. That news made me sad but at the same time, it gave me a bit of hope that maybe we too will be a success story in the end.

All in all, this year is off to a strange start.  I went to the gym Sunday for the first time since last August even though I know that it’s going to be a stop/start type of thing as I don’t think I’ll go in the weeks following the IUI(s). But some fitness has to be better than none.  The major downside being that I don’t think I can afford both the gym and acupuncture and as I was doing acupuncture during the cycle that “worked”, I know that it will only take one failed cycle to make me feel that I have to go back to it regardless.

My hormonal crash seems to be over though and the only thing that has hit me hard was a quick trip to the Gap yesterday where everyone was buying the discounted baby clothes – just what we’d talked about doing. I’ve read the blogs of people who stock up on baby items even before they’re pregnant but I don’t have the courage for that – it just seems like tempting fate to a frightening degree.

Responses

  1. I hear you about the fitness – need to get my butt moving…

    I was wondering about the accupuncture. Did you find it helpful? Did you use Chinese herbs as well?


Leave a Reply

Categories

