Posted by: perchancetodream | December 24, 2007

Adding Insult to Injury

All in all, I’m okay. The D&C, along with 3 scans from 3 different doctors confirming the same thing, brought a lot of closure.  While I’m have some cramps and some bleeding it’s nothing excessive and my doctor isn’t even (at this point) suggesting that we wait to try again.

The bad timing of this though, meant that the procedure took place in an abortion clinic.  One that takes uninsured walk-ins. So when we went on Saturday the room was packed.  I had to fill in my forms standing up. And it was clear from the giggling and cell phone conversations taking place that most of the people there had gotten unintentionally pregnant and had no qualms about “getting rid of it”.

Not exactly the same situation we were in.

It was three hours before they took me for the procedure.  But I do have to say that the surgery team was great and when they found out that this was a miscarriage, they were appropriately sympathetic and comforting, even if I had to explain the different between IUI and IVF to them.  And the ceiling, with it’s backlit butterflies was actually a soothing thing to drift off to.

They brought me out of the anesthesia quickly, had me move to a chair and gave me hot chocolate that promptly threw my system into shock.  After about 5 minutes, my pulse slowed down, the dizziness and sweating stopped and they asked me to leave because they needed the chair. Um sure……

Anyhow, this chapter is now behind us although it will now always be a part of me. I meet with my RE on the 2nd and then we have to focus forward……

Happy holidays to any and all. I hope that this year is happy and comforting and fruitful for all of us….

Responses

  1. The experience sounds awful I am so sorry.

  2. Hi hun: I’ve been in that chair, regretfully so. And it IS just like that. In and out! A little snack to stabalize you and “thank you very much.” NExT!

    But the physical aspects now will be so much easier on you and in turn you WILL rebound faster .

    I’m so sorry you had to go thru that! I’d be there with Turkey soup and hot chocolate if I could be.

    HUGS. Rest! We all have a busy year ahead! And you’ll need all your strength. 😀

  3. So sorry for everything.

    2008 will be a better year…

  4. Wow. That’s possibly one of the worst places ever to have a D&C that I’ve ever heard of. On the plus side, at least you didn’t have to recover in the Maternity Ward (yes, seriously).

    2008 will definitely be a better year for the two of you.

  5. I feel sorry for you. I wish you best of luck in 2008.

  6. So sorry. Much love to you.

  7. Hoping you’re doing okay, and healing — I know it’s so, so hard. And very unfair.

    I’m impressed you got an appt. for the 2nd! I have to wait another month for mine, and I’m climbing the walls already…

    Anyway, thinking of you. Many hugs…

  8. I hope that you are ok now. I know that how awful it was for you. But have to forget about past and move on .

  9. I know that must have been an aweful experiance. Thank you for sharing about your esperiance on this blog.

    Hope all is well.

    Kindly,
    Monica


Leave a Reply

Categories

