Posted by: perchancetodream | December 3, 2007

Houston….we have a heartbeat!

Obviously this baby feeds on stress! After the gloom and doom of last Monday, today was a ray of sunshine. I’ve realized though that my doctor, however great he might be, errs on the side of caution.

I went in fully expecting the worst. My symptoms have been waning, and with everything else, I just figured that the best plan was to forge ahead and look towards next time. But the minute he put the wand in, Dr. Understatement said “Well, things seem to have developed.” They’d developed so far that even I could see the flicker of the heartbeat.

He STILL hasn’t given me the size of anything and the machine was mis-calibrated so he couldn’t get a read on the heartbeat (but estimated it at 120bpm) but we did get to “hear” it (well, the ultrasound machine’s simulation of it) and it was a lovely, amazing sound.

And now it will be over 2 weeks before I’m back in town to see him again. I’m going to try to sneak a scan in from my gyn before the week is out. Just to be sure. Just for more information…..

I feel drunk and giddy from lack of sleep and this completely unexpected good news. I know that this is just one step in a long process but it’s such a large, large step and I’m so thrilled to be taking it. Thanks to all of you (and my lovely husband) for your support and kind words. They help more than you could ever know.

Responses

  1. AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So happy for you. Hugs

  2. Oh my god — that is awesome. Congrats!

  3. SOOOOO HAPPY FOR YOU!!! (Really and truly!)

  4. WOOHOOO!!!!

    :DDD

  5. Oh my GOODNESS…see, I drop out of reading for awhile and look what happens!!!

    Wonderful news,

    Pam


Leave a Reply

Categories

