Posted by: perchancetodream | November 20, 2007

Giving Thanks

Growing up, Thanksgiving was always a great holiday. My paternal grandparents would have 40 or 50 people over for dinner in their finished basement and, as the only child in the family, I loved all of the attention and festivities. It was also my grandparent’s anniversary. Being in retail, the national holiday meant that my grandfather could close the store so they took advantage of the time off and got married then.

Ever since my grandfather and mother died and I moved away from home, the holidays have been different. I make a full thanksgiving feast for my husband and I (and the animals are more than happy to pitch in eating things) and I still get up in the morning to watch the parades on TV and call my dad. But every year I miss those huge parties and memories of my dad and uncle playing catch in the middle of the street and the candles running down the length of the huge table.

Last year, we knew what we were grateful for. My husband had just arrived in the US a few weeks before so we ate, drank and enjoyed the paper Hallmark turkey centerpiece that my dad sent us when we were living in the UK.

This year, if all goes well, it will be the last one we spend, just the two of us. I will be drinking my non-alcoholic champagne and trying not to count the hours down until the ultrasound on Monday morning. But I know that we’ll be giving thanks in advance for what we hope is a positive outcome.

It is hard to walk the line of hedging bets. I still try hard to couch comments in “Ifs”..”If all goes well”, etc. At the same time, I don’t want to look back and regret not allowing myself to feel the joy of these moments. And I can’t help but hope that we’re creating our own traditions that our child will someday look back on nostalgically. Maybe my paper turkey will be passed down and become a family heirloom. You never know.

I hope that you all have a wonderful holiday and that the wishbone brings you your most treasured dreams.

Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy your turkey.

    (PS — read my comment on your lack-of-car post).

    Best of luck on Monday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

