Posted by: perchancetodream | November 14, 2007

Whining About Wine

I have 12 days until our first ultrasound and my mind is racing. It wasn’t helped by my favorite nurse (the one who performed the magic IUI) telling me yesterday that I “shouldn’t even think about packing until after the ultrasound.”

Let me back up.

I am a department head for a non-profit. We are a small organization of 10 women who are part of a huge umbrella organization. Every 2 years we have a national conference.  This year’s, my first, is in California in December.  This is a mandatory conference to attend, particularly for department heads and particularly because our Conference Planner who is the only staff member more tech-savvy than I am, and who normally would deal with the entire Audio-visual mess for the week will be having a baby on December 6th and won’t be there.  So guess who is meant to take that over in addition to everything else?

We’ve basically spent the better part of the last 11 months working on materials and programming for the conference. My boss who I didn’t tell that we were even TTC – not because she wouldn’t be supportive but because everything gets so crazy leading up to the conference and I didn’t think she needed the stress in case it didn’t work – would literally fall over with a coronary if I had to tell her that I couldn’t go.

So I’m a tad stressed.  And have probably read too many horrible stories in other blogs about good beta numbers that then led to disastrous  results.

So, instead of writing about all of that, I’m going to write about wine. Which I can’t drink at the moment. And which, I have to admit, I miss.  I had no problems giving up caffeine , I don’t smoke or do any of the other illicit things you aren’t meant to do when TTC. But I do love a glass of wine with dinner or a decent stout.

My Scottish husband would say that I’m not really much of a drinker.  But that’s because he’s from a culture where beer and the pub are the center piece of social life. I don’t actually like being drunk so I only drink things I really, really like the taste of.  Like wine.  And Stout. And don’t even get me started about champagne.

I’ve never been terribly good at self denial so I figured that short of making myself crazy for 9+ months, I needed to find a substitute.  So I’ve been sampling non-alcoholic wine. The wonderful liquor store near our house carries the whole line of Fre wines and brut. The Brut was appropriately bubbly and I could pretty much fool myself into thinking I was drinking champagne.  The wines, well, I trying my damnedest to get used to them. I think I need to try some of the other brands out there.

As I’ve fallen asleep the past few nights while watching shows I REALLY wanted to see, it’s probably just as well that I can’t drink.  But I have to admit to missing it.

Before anyone gets on me – I’m not being ungrateful.  I’d gladly give up alcohol forever if it guaranteed a healthy pregnancy and child.  But it is much less stressful to write about wine than about the chances of an ectopic pregnanc, my fear of an amnio and the chance of downs syndrome.

I’m sure I’ll get to those topics too.  But for now, I’m just going to whine about missing wine.

Responses

  1. Mr Oro always complained that I never drank enough. I countered that as someone who doesn’t drink beer, I should have been able to get trashed on hard liquor mixed with Coke or lemonade or what have you. However. When we went out, I was only able to get buzzed on wine…I swear all the bars in Aberdeen watered their hard liqour down, but the place I went to on the Black Isle was just fine!!

    What’s funny is that now that we’re in the States, Mr Oro can pretty much drink everyone under the table – and he’s still a wuss by Scottish standards. Heh. It’s been a long time since he could put away 20 pints…

  2. Forgot to add, I miss the wine like crazy!!

    What part of Scotland is Mr Perchance from?


Leave a Reply

Categories

