Posted by: perchancetodream | October 29, 2007

In the Two Week Wait and…

there is not much to write about. 4 days in and 10 to go.

After our first IUI, I had horrible cramps for the first 8 days and then nothing. After our 2nd IUI I really felt fine all the way through. And both of those failed. This IUI I pretty much feel like I’ve been kicked in the stomach. Waves of cramps that somehow feel “deeper” than AF cramps.

That could be down to the HCG (which I hadn’t taken before) or the fact that I had a ton of follicles or…..

I’m trying to be pragmatic about this cycle. Not getting my hopes up too high, sorting out the next IUI cycle which will be our last (probably) before IVF – although as our insurance will cover IUIs indefinitely, I’m not sure that it will be our last forever.

I recently read the blog of a woman who got pregnant on the 20th iui. She was in the same boat – her insurance covered IUI and not IVF. My husband says that he doesn’t see the point – that he thinks it’s crazy to go through it so many times. But I disagree. I don’t know that I’d make that choice myself at my age (42) but if the opportunity is there why not take it? Unless someone tells me that my eggs aren’t viable and that there is no reason why I haven’t ever been pregnant than I’m keeping an open mind about future steps.

But in the meantime, I’ll wait 10 days and see what happens.

Edit: I just had to burst out laughing. There is an astrologer in the UK I follow with bemused interest. His forecast for today could not be more true to my character. Now I wonder, just how do I go about doing this?
Easy going, that’s you. Laissez-faire. That’s your policy. Why, the only reason they ever created the flow was so that you could go with it. And with that flow, you go. Always. You make quite sure of that. You don’t give that flow a chance to escape. You keep a close eye on it. You make sure that you know where it is at all times and you train it to learn how to do as it is told. Er… hang on, that can’t be right. Resist, this week, the urge to push something that is already moving naturally in the right direction.

Responses

  1. Good luck to you!!! I plan to try as many IUIs as possible before taking the BIG step.

  2. Was that Mystic Meg or Derek Acora?

  3. Jonathan Cainer actually! (www.cainer.com)


Leave a Reply

Categories

