Posted by: perchancetodream | October 26, 2007

Again, to Drift*

IUI #3 is now history. It’s funny how these things go – there is the huge build-up before and then…you wait. And try not to notice every twinge and judge it against every twinge you were trying not to notice last time. And then lo and behold you’re either pregnant. Or not.

This was our first IUI at the new clinic. My first with an HCG shot. The best sperm we’ve had for a procedure to date. And on, as I’ve mentioned, the anniversary of the date that we met. And there’s that “third time is a charm” thing.

It is easy to become superstitious when the universe throws you unexplained infertility. I’m one of those people who doesn’t deal well with “unexplained” because I’ve always been able to get to the bottom of something. It’s humbling to have to surrender in this way; to wait and see what happens.

I’d kicked around the idea of doing a pregnancy test every day to see the HCG leave my system and then, hopefully see the lines come back. But I don’t want to see those lines fade and I’ve seen enough negative tests to last me for a while.

I’ve also kicked around the idea of really, honestly, truly not testing until day 14 and then going into the clinic for a blood test. I’ve never done that (the old clinic said to do it at home first) but the wait for the phone call must be excruciating.

I don’t know if I’ll hold out that long but I do know that I’m nervous about testing and getting a false positive from the HCG and getting my hopes up. So I guess I’ll just bide my time and see how I feel in 13 days….

*Today’s title borrowed from Black Tape for a Blue Girl

Responses

  1. Hey there Perchance…
    First time visitor here….sending good vibes your way on your IUI. I’ll be keeping up with you on your journey. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

