Posted by: perchancetodream | October 22, 2007

We Interrupt This Infertility Blog…

…for a music rant.

Given the choice, I’d much rather be writing about music than shots, stirrups and eggs. Thankfully, I get the chance to write about music professionally, but never enough.

This weekend, the hubby and I went to a show that almost but not quite, embarrasses me. We went to see 2 tribute bands: one a Police band and the other a U2 band. Now, I like the Police and the band was okay although the sound for them was fairly crappy.

But the U2 band, Unforgettable Fire, was frighteningly amazing. Anyone who knows me in the real world, knows that I’m a huge U2 fan and have been ever since I first heard the October album. I heard it by chance, compliments of my first love who sent it to fill the back of a Laurie Anderson tape. He gave me a list of options and I was taken with the title “October” (being a fall-loving creature in general) and that was that.

In so many ways, for so many reasons, the music of U2 has been the soundtrack to my life and if I could find a way to listen to them in the exam room, I’m sure that my procedures would be far less stressful.

Anyhow, while I would generally scoff at tribute bands it also fascinates me – I minored in theatre in school so I understand how you can step into a role night after night. But it must be strange to play someone who is living and it must be odder still to look and sound so much like them. And this band does. They are obviously amazing musicians in their own rights and I had to keep pulling myself back and reminding myself that no, I wasn’t seeing U2 in a room filled with about 350 people. (Although the first time I did see U2, in 1983, the room was only marginally larger and damned if Unforgettable Fire didn’t manage to whip the crowd into the same sort of frenzy).

There is no real point to this blog except to perhaps to remind us all to remember that, however trying this damned infertility journey is, we should still enjoy the things that make us happy. It was nice to be so caught up in something that provided joy for it’s own sake.

Leave a Reply

Categories

