Posted by: perchancetodream | October 19, 2007

Is This Thing On?

Follistim shot #1 took place last night and while it didn’t hurt at all, it was quite odd to watch the needle go into my leg. And I had a curious cat and golden retreiver trying to help, which is always fun. 🙂

I’m disappointed though that so far, Follistim hasn’t turned into the happy drug that Clomid was for me. I’ve long realized that medication doesn’t quite effect me the way it does “normal” people and when I waited for all the horrible clomid side effects I’d read about to kick in, I found instead that I was happy. Really, really happy.

Okay, in honesty, that was for round #1 and it could have just been glee at beginning the process (after all, I was SURE that it would work on the first try!) . Round #2 I had bronchitis and couldn’t really separate any Clomid symptoms from my non-stop coughing.

I was hoping that Follistim might give me the same high I felt during cycle 1 but so far…nothing. I suppose that’s better than negative symptoms though, right?

Right now, I’m thinking that IUI #3 might take place on Halloween. I’ve had strange things happen on Halloween; some of which I think I’ll leave private :-). But last year, my husband moved here from the UK (International immigration is the only thing that’s more complicated to navigate than infertility and US health insurance but at least you’re pretty much assured of a positive outcome). His flights were horribly delayed but he finally arrived and I met him at the airport in a rented elves costume (which for some reason we never took any photos of) and which, I’m sure, amused Homeland Security to no end.

I’m trying hard not to think how cool it would be to have a Halloween IUI and to have it be successful. Really, I am.

Responses

  1. Oooh, when it works, you get to name the kid something like Vlad or Frank or Bela if conceived on Halloween.

    I always have furry friends helping with my shots. Nothing better than having a curious puppy nosing at your needle hand.

  2. Vlad! Oh yes!!! (although that might get me divorced!). How about Morticia for a girl?

    The dog wasn’t so bad although he’s a walking shed machine. But the cat is fairly insane (in a good way!) so you never really know what she’s going to get into.

  3. […] Is This Thing On? By perchancetodream Round #2 I had bronchitis and couldn’t really separate any Clomid symptoms from my non-stop coughing. I was hoping that Follistim might give me the same high I felt during cycle 1 but so far…nothing. I suppose that’s better than … […]

  4. […] Is This Thing On? […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

