Posted by: perchancetodream | September 26, 2007

The Deconstruction of Falling Stars

I’ve been watching a lot of Babylon 5 lately and have “stolen” one of my favorite titles for this post (sorry JMS, you can have it back now!). I don’t know if it’s particularly relevant but it rather fits my mood of late. (Plus there is that nagging reminder that hell, if a Minbari who turned half human can have a child what in the world is my problem???)

Which brings up the list I was given by Dr. Celebrity’s IVF coordinator yesterday. It contained everything you’d expect: billing info, what may or may not happen in the course of treatment and a list of things that you are meant to stop doing three months before IVF. Namely, no caffeine, no alcohol, no stress (yeah right!), no “excessive” exercise. Along with a healthy diet and mainlining folic acid, you’re then good to go. But there is still only a 17% chance that it will work if you’re 42.

The flip side of this is all of the crackheads who get pregnant, the college girls who have one too many at a frat party, the malnourished woman in the third world who can barely find enough food to make it through the day, the couple whose condom breaks or the normally diligent woman who forgets one pill and finds herself pregnant.

Either the universe has a sadistically wicked sense of humor or it really just is so random that we can’t get our fingers on it. I truly believe that there are no coincidences, that everything happens for a reason. I just wish those reasons made more sense.

Responses

  1. I’m a believer in things happening for a reason. It keeps me sane much of the time, but makes me crazy when it comes to this. Mr. JellyBeana claims it is because the rest of our life is easy and we will appreciate our child more than the average parent. Maybe. Doesn’t seem like a good enough reason to me.

    Keep your chin up! 17% is still pretty close to normal for the average woman walking down the street. Try to take care of you the best you can.

  2. I agree that we’d probably appreciate our children more for what we’ve had to go through. But what pressure that will probably place on them! πŸ™‚ You gotta know that everyone who has a kid through IVF probably at least once says “You can’t act like that after I went $30K into debt just to have you!”

    I know that 17% is close to normal but the average women doesn’t just have one chance at it. And then they say not to be stressed! Hmmm……

  3. True. And the average woman isn’t spending more than she would for a new Honda for it.

    It’s really difficult to see the balance between the positive and the negative. Yes, negative may slightly outweigh positive, but then it seems to grow and expand and crowd out the positive. That may be the hardest thing to deal with.

    What destresses you?

  4. VERY good question. What de-stresses me?

    1. A nice glass of wine
    2. A good book that I just can’t put down
    3. Music – particular live and particularly Irish
    4. acupuncture
    5. love

    I have a couple of those. A couple are a bit up-and-down at the moment and I really shouldn’t have the wine πŸ™‚

  5. Yeah, the wine wouldn’t be the best of choices for the moment.

    I haven’t tried acupuncture yet. I’m more of a pedicure, massage girl. Live music always gets high marks. Irish, yes, but also bluegrass, rock, alternative, classical…sigh.

  6. I’ve also been listening to a lot of Arvo Parte – kindof classical gregorian chants on steroids. Absolutely stunning. You kind of have to believe that the world is ultimately a good place when confronted with things of great beauty.

  7. Sounds interesting. I’ve been on a bluegrassish kick lately, so I’ve been listening to The Avett Brothers a lot, but I just bought the Waylin’ Jennys to try. I’ll see how I like it

    I’ve heard of yours, but just found some on iTunes. Very interesting and something I’ll pick up when I need something new.

  8. We are all Kosh.

  9. How DO vorlons reproduce anyhow? πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

