Posted by: perchancetodream | October 27, 2009

Honestly Scrapping

honest_scrap_large

Thanks to Willow for awarding me with an Honest Scrap award. The award is meant to be given to fellow bloggers who blogs you find inspiring, so I’m quite touched to have been given it.

This award comes with some rules as well:
1) Thank the person who gave you the award.  List their blog and link to it. (Check!)
2) Share “10 Honest Things” about yourself.  (See below.)
3) Present this award to 7 others whose blogs you find brilliant in content and/or design, or those who have encouraged you.  (Also below.)
4) Tell those 7 people they’ve been awarded HONEST SCRAP and inform them of these guidelines in receiving the award.  (Just as soon as I post this…)

10 Honest Things About Me:

1.  I honestly believe that the best thing you can give your children is a strong marriage.  So I’m all for “date nights”, occassional weekends away, etc. I loved knowing that my parents were in love with each other and want to give that to our kid(s) too.

2. Although I’m Jewish and work for a Jewish organization, the closest I’ve come to a real religious experience was when I saw U2 in 1983 in a 1500 seat theatre.  The hope and unity in the room was almost a physical thing and I remain a huge fan of them to this day.

3. My freelance career involves writing about Irish traditional music.  When I started doing it, I knew virtually NOTHING about the music and had to learn (very quickly) who the major players were and why.  Now, nine years in, I’m a bit of an authority on the subject.

4.  Although I played clarinet for almost 13 years and sat first chair in my school’s band I’m a pretty horrible musician and have no sense of rhythm. That being said, I have a native American flute that I’m determined to master when I get back from the work convention.

5. I’m left-handed.  Hubby is left-handed.  A great portion of my friends are left-handed (I’m also an only child and have a great number of friends who are as well).

6.  I’m a hoarder (but an organized one).  I have tickets from every concert, play, and baseball game I’ve ever been to.  But they’re in a box in the closet, not scattered around.

7. I love books but have to admit that the Ama.zon Kin.dle that hubby bought me is one of the best gifts I’ve ever gotten.  Sometimes I just read to read but have been known to buy the physical book after I’ve read it electronically if it’s special to me.

8. There is a part of me that is happy that the adoption probably won’t go through for another 1.5-3 years.  Although I’m anxious and excited to be a mother, I’m also excited about some of the things that hubby and I have planned to do in the meantime (trying to get the un-kid-friendly trips and such out of the way). That being said, I know that if something happens and I either get pregnant (ha!) or we’re referred sooner, I’ll be over the moon.

9.  By the 3rd day I met hubby (we met on vacation) I knew that we’d probably get married. Even though we lived in different countries at the time.

10.  I have NO sense of direction.  I mean none.  If I learn how to get somewhere, I can’t find my way back because I have problems flipping the landmarks over to the other side.  It’s kind of like directional dyslexia.

Now for my Honest Scrap Awards (in no particular order)…..

Blood Signs

PeeSticksandStones

Don’t Call Me Mother

Gaijin Mama

Life From Here: Musings from the Edge

Mommy Wants Vodka

My Hopeful Heart

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for the award!! :)

  2. You are so cute. Thank you for the award.

  3. Thank you!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

